Danielle Waterman has been named in the first ever Women’s Rugby Sevens GB squad, who’ll compete at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio in August.

Waterman is part of an impressively strong GB team that includes six players who featured in the history-making 2014 Rugby World Cup triumph in the XVs game.

As the only player to have featured in three Rugby World Cup finals also, Waterman’s ‘big tournament’ experience will be vital as Team GB embark on their Rio adventure.

“It’s a real honour and privilege to be named in the Team GB squad alongside this team,” said Waterman at Team GB’s squad selection announcement in central London. “I vividly remember when rugby made it into the Olympics, and for it to be less than a month away now is crazy! I cannot wait for the opportunity to be in the Olympic village, brushing shoulders with the best athletes in the world, and then have the chance to pull on the Team GB shirt and play Sevens for my country.”

The squad, who have been training full time as a wider GB group since October last year, have played in invitational and training tournaments around the globe this season. Their biggest success came winning the Canada leg of the World Sevens Series, which Waterman featured in for England.

Team GB Head Coach Simon Middleton said: “This is a hugely exciting moment for women’s rugby with sevens making its debut at the Olympic Games and we believe we have selected the best possible group of players to achieve success in Rio.

“The World Series this season proved how competitive the women’s rugby sevens circuit is and we’re very much looking forward to competing against the very best as a GB squad.

“The strength and depth of the wider training squad has not made the final selection easy. The players have been together since October and have trained so hard and really pushed the standards up of this group. I would like to thank all those girls who didn’t make the final squad for their fantastic contribution and putting us in the best possible place to play in Rio.”

The sevens competition will start on Saturday, 6 August with GB Women playing hosts Brazil at 4.00pm (BST) on the opening day followed by Japan at 9.00pm (BST).

On Sunday, 7 August GB women will play their final game of Pool C against Canada at 4.30pm.

The top two teams from each group will then qualify for the next round as well as the two best third-place teams.

Should GB women qualify they will play their quarter-final match on Sunday, 7 August with the semi-finals and final to be played on Monday, 8 August from 6.30pm – 1.00am (BST).

GB Women’s Rugby squad

  1. Claire Allan
  2. Abbie Brown
  3. Alice Richardson (VC)
  4. Emily Scarratt (C)
  5. Danielle Waterman
  6. Katy Mclean
  7. Heather Fisher
  8. Emily Scott
  9. Natasha Hunt
  10. Joanne Watmore
  11. Jasmine Joyce
  12. Amy Wilson-Hardy


  1. Megan Jones
  2. Kay Wilson


Head Coach-Simon Middleton

Assistant Coach-Richie Pugh

Fixtures with coverage live on the BBC:

Saturday 6 August: Brazil (12pm local/ 4pm BST), Japan (5pm local / 9pm BST)

Sunday 7 August: Canada (12.30pm/4.30pm BST), QF and placing (4-6.30pm / 8-10.30pm BST)

Monday 8 August: SF and placing (12.30-3pm/4.30-4pm BST), Finals and placing (5.30pm-7pm/9.30pm-11pm)